Skip to content

musings

January 28, 2011

Well, this week I want to wax philosophically about wine in general.

As usual, I really believe that people should step out of their comfort zone and try new things. White wine sucks, all red wine gives me headaches, pinot is for girls, real men drink cab….yada yada yada.

Liver, let talk liver…..eeeeeeeuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhh that doesn’t taste good. Ever tried good pate or fois ggras???? Oh I like pate, oh your dirty rice is so good uncle jim…..what! Its full of chicken livers and gizzards, hearts….oh now I don’t like it (hey it was kinda cajun haggis….I liked it) now I use good sausage meat and more spice. Now its uncle jim can you tone it down? Ok, bad liver sucks and yes I’ve had it and due to mumsy’s belief that all meat needs to be killed, I can’t bear fried liver….but pate…best I ever had was in Toronto in a Portuguese restaurant after the Porto / Liverpool game. APP and I went to a Portuguese restaurant the day after and the whole staff was at the game…I forgave them for winning but the chicken liver pate was to die for

Blood sausage…again, food of the gods. Add a real beer and life is good.

Rose isn’t just for the babes. It goes with alot of foods and it bloody well tastes good. On the deck in the summer there isn’t a better wine. Add some sausages and man life is good. Remember the people from Provence drink it by the gallon and their food is may I say quite tolerable.

I have been spending alot of time in Trenton lately and have discovered their wines. They are different. That is they are very minerally. Sometimes, that isn’t in peoples wheelhouses but I really have gotten to like it. Terry isn’t into the mineral thing. She doesn’t get it and it just doesn’t work for her. But we had a Cab Franc from Black Prince…..it was very different and she just loved it. She stretched her comfort zone and it worked for her. Her journey has gone from jammy Aussie Shiraz’s to now likingPinots and lets not pretend…thats a leap.

Now, I really like the Price Edward County wines I have tried. Lean mineral beauties who announce where they are from. I like that and man they Pinot Gris from Troumper’s Mill was superb. APP loved it and he isn’t a wine guy (but he does really like good Alsatian wine). Add the crab dip and it was to die for. He asked me to open a 2nd bottle btw. Is mineral for everyone? No, but try.

Another thing. Trenton is not my favourite town, but their lickbo has a display of the local wines right at the cash register. Not a great but not a bad selection. My boss joked when I came out with 2 bags of wine, but I just enjoyed a bottle in my room watching the telly.

Ok, I still don’t get Retsina. I admit it but I think Georgian wine is cool, and I have dabbled in Bulgarian Chardonnay, hot climate Pinots and Indian beer. Try it, its fun and maybe sometime you’ll find a gem.

I’m finishing my cider and maybe I need some wine and I must go look.

Tootles

2 Comments leave one →
  1. APP permalink
    January 30, 2011 11:51 pm

    …..’twas good, the dip and wine. even better than a Chelsea victory.

  2. January 31, 2011 3:00 pm

    Thanks for the comment on the Cab Franc, so glad that she enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

