Skip to content

A Pinot

January 14, 2011

When the day is bad, how does one cheer himself up?

 

Smoke salmon, prosciutto, french loaf and cheese. And of course Pinot.

 

The wine is Trumpour’s Mill Pinot Noir, 2007 from Prince Edward County. Yes that region far far away from LENS and one whom we really don’t see down here. I have been up there a few times on business and was able to sneak away and get to the ‘island’. I was lucky as I had little time, I saw the sign to Trumpour’s Mill and headed that way.

 

I was luck that the were not busy and I basically had the place the place to myself. Unbeknownst to me I was being taken care of by the office manager and the owner. Through their line I was happily impressed. Whites were very nice, then the Pinot, then a Cab Franc. Come on that isn’t from PEC, but it was. It was really nice. Over-ripe fruit, no, but a nice complex wine. The over-riding trait is mineral. Why??? There is Limestone about a foot or so down. Farmland….maybe thats why I saw alot of sheep and cows. The limestone gives character and depth. Some people don’t like it but I do.

 

Music tonite is: John Coltrane Live at Newport. Recorded in 1963 with an all star band and yes it is vinyl…but Japanese vinyl. Oh so nice.

 

Let’s look at the wine…remember its an 07 Pinot Noir.

 

Visual: rose petal red with slow forming legs….looks nice and legs really don’t mean all that much.

 

Aroma: I get loads of mineral/earthy aromas with a strong black cherry background. It would have been fruit forward except for the mineral. There’s more secondary but its not too strong.

 

Taste: The tannins are present but not overpowering with a good acid backbone. The mineral is soo strong and the cherry does its thing on the finish….Mineral and cherry…not a bad combo. The other classic Pinot tastes are there but in the back, peeking out to make a complex wine.

 

I really like this wine. With the prosciutto, the salt brought out the mineral a wee bit too much but it played well with the cheeses. I think I would avoid pairing this with salty food, but say with roast chicken this wine would be great…oh yes duck, it would be great too.

 

With the music it did well. Old jazz, complex different mated well with the wine.

 

I’m chillin now and actually want to get some more soon and that means going for more business meetings…oh well.

 

Tootles

 

PS: I suggest a good map and a navigator. I tried to go it alone and a helper would have made it easier. The roads are curvy an hilly and the signage could be better.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. pinstripes permalink
    January 15, 2011 12:09 am

    Mrs Pinstripes and I spent the day in PE County 2 Thanksgivings ago. Was most enjoyable. Was a pleasant change to talk to estate type winery folks who did not let their disdane for LCBO
    consume their lives. Spent most of the afternoon at The Grange and got pleasantly happy with the staff and the owner’s daughter. Nice folks. Wandered about the vineyard and was amazed that anything could possibly grow in the rocks and boulders that they called earth. Will no doubt go back again and visit some of the other establishments tat dot the landscape.

Leave a Reply

