Skip to content

West Coasting

December 3, 2010

My trip to the West Coast (of Michigan) has had a lasting impact upon me. We had great food, wine and met some great people.

 

Wine-wise it was startling. We had some great Pinot. One of note was Frei Brother’s from the Russian River Valley of Sonoma. I have always loved wines from Sonoma and the Russian River is my fav.

 

Now, we both loved the Pinot. Silky smooth, no fruit-bomb, nor was it a farmyard. It was just nice. Not high alcohol either. So I googled the brand. Lo and Behold its a Gallo property. They bought it from the Frie’s when they retired. But Gallo?? The make jug wine.

 

So what is my point? You have to forget what you believe and taste. Taste will set you free! A colleague from Niagara sent me an email where he said that Ton Aspler tried 70 Lens wines and found none extraordinary. I replied ….so. That’s right; I couldn’t really care what Tony Aspler or Robert Parker like because they aren’t me.

 

My humble tastes scream that Muscedere’s Syrah is the best Red Wine and that ViewPointes Barrel Fermented Chardonnay is the best white wine from this area. Do I care who else thinks that? Nope.

 

Should you go out and buy them because I like them…..NO EFFIN WAY. Terry disagrees with me and thats ok. She likes a different style of wine than I do so yeasty whites and/or oaky whites are unloved. Me, I like whites with restrained oak. Balance is all that matters.

 

Just remember that 2 Buck Chuck Chardonnay finished 2nd at the Cali State Fair. I could say ’nuff said but this is crucial. Blind it was good, but I never would buy it. We tried a $3.99 Pinot and well it was pretty good too. Extraordinary??? Nope. Ok yes.

 

Trust yourself and stumble around the wine world and enjoy. Don’t deconstruct the wine. Take it as a whole.

 

Ah, Thurston…. this wine has wonderful berry flavor of blackberries picked at high tea

 

Luvvy, it is so acetic that it puckers me

 

But i love the berry flavor…

 

If the wine sucks it doesn’t matter what portion sucks. I loath Bon Jovi so if whomever is the world’s greatest guitarist and the are friends with Springsteen, it doesn’t matter. It still blows.

 

Tootles

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment