Skip to content

Idle Thoughts

May 22, 2010

While I was at the wine Championships, I was at a table when one of the judges came by and spoke with the servers. It just seemed he took his wine too seriously and wasn't having fun.

I want wine to be fun! I guess I come from the Italian school of wine. Wine is part of life, to be enjoyed and treasured. A great wine is to be honoured, but wine is part of life. I truly enjoy a great Barolo, but I am happy to have my Farnese with pizza or a nice meat sauce on my pasta.

I think I know where he was coming from tho. Years ago I was like that, except with stereo equipment, I could hear the difference between cables, turntables, and God forbid, listening to cd's was totally unacceptable, like a corked wine. I listened in the dark, alone, so that I could get every nuance. I listened to my equipment, not the music. Now I am 'cured' and listen to music, still hate cd's…. but now I hate mp3's more.

Wine to me is to be shared with friends, with music, food, and fun. I remember fondly sitting at Muscedere, with a rather large barrel sample of the chard, Rob, Fab, dad, Terry and I sitting around the table, with some cheese. It was magical. The wine was superlative. It went on to fail VQA, didn't taste like chardonnay. Some was oaked and blended back….it passed and was ruined. It was and still is very good, but my memory is of that afternoon and it was perfect. Perfect at that moment.

So lets have fun. Enjoy your wine. You do not need Opus 1, to have a great evening. Include friends, food, music, some unruly pets and any wine will taste better.

Tootles

ps: I am starting to be able to smell and taste again so I will restart wine reviews…unless something else blooms. I love spring!!!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 12:42 pm

    Being judges is unquestionably a civil job

  2. May 24, 2010 7:14 pm

    Congrats! You made the culture page.I agree with your philosophy – life is to be lived. That is the only true way to treasure something: to use it as it was meant to be used. If you don't then your bottle of expensive wine will just turn to vinegar.John

  3. May 26, 2010 5:00 pm

    Thank you John. remember that you can never know how good a wine is until you drink it. it ain't for looking at

Leave a Reply

