Skip to content

Idle Thoughts

February 13, 2010

Valentines Day Help

Tomorrow is St Valentine's Day. Guys you gotta do something nice for your ladies. Terry and I decided not to spend money on bobbles but to make a nice dinner. I like that so its going to be Game Hens….need to do some wine stuff but thats ok..I've yet to decide what to serve but Pinot sounds good right now…maybe a Chard…I just can't decide.

Now guys. Here is some relationship advice. If you want to make the missus happy, pass on the Daytona 500 and cook her a nice meal….get some flowers and a bottle or two of wine. Can't cook…no problem…you can grill or do something cool. May I suggest going to my fav cooking site “Cooking for Engineers” and try something there. They use lots of pictures, details, and flow charts. The recipes are killer and give it a try. Even a failure will get you many points. Put some Al Green on the stereo, dim the lights, open the wine and baby, you will be THE MAN. http://www.cookingforengineers.com/

Now Ladies. If your man must watch the Daytona 500, I will give you a revenge site. Use this one at our own risk. I once gave this site a rave review to a Nascar Dude…told him it was great, a chick? Who loved Nascar….well the next day when I came by to ask a real question about the project, he took his bulldozer and tried to run me down… this is powerful Juju. Betty Jack: he/she is part of Gaytona and runs a great site. Tell him you found a great site with great info and you now care about Nascar. Read Betty and find out good stuff and tell him then show him his/her column and he will think its cool and then go back to Gaytona and laugh… or run like I did …http://www.gaytona.com/

Quickie Review

It's amazing what you can taste when you change wine. To purge the workweek, Terry and I drink a bottle or two. After a bad week, like this one, only one wine will do and in volume. I don't want to waste an expensive wine so its Coli Albani, that Italian dream wine at $16 for 2 litres. Aptly described by a soothe as “cold white and cheap…like me” it can wipe out the week and save the cellar.

Well after that lovely we opened a Sprucewood Chardonnay. Immediate nose hit…oak yeast flavours aromas that just were not there in the previous one. I am not sure what it had anyway….

Immediate tastes of oak yeast just like the nose…what is going on…did I get the Barrel Fermented? A quick check showed no, but methinks some is in there. I didn't think this one was oaked, but it is nicely.

If you like a lightly oaked , try this one….it is more than light but not too much…if you find Barrel Fermented too much of a good thing, try this one…it has notes but not overpowering.

I like this one and recommend it heartily

tootles.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

