Skip to content

Announcement – Wednesday April 18th, 2007

July 26, 2008
tags: ,

Well this Saturday,Tso and I are making cider.

As per my belief system the apples will be local (though storage) and I will try to be as natural as possible. I really think that this product is a natural down here and I hope it will taste good. I am not going native and do what the English sites suggest, mainly stealing the apples, building a press and no yeast. I will be legal and try to keep the alcohol to ~5%. It's been fun researching since English apples and Canadian apples are called different things and its the blend of these apples that makes it go. So we have a few to choose from and I'm using the idiot savant approach as I really dislike apples but really like cider. I think this calls for a field trip to do research . The Oak, I think since they carry all the Woodchuck line, which are my favorite ciders.

 

I could have made wine, but I wouldn't want a few vintners to cry when I make a far superior product than theirs. So to keep everyone positive, I will make cider and only crush one cider maker. His cider is excellent, but I want to make a different style(and cheaper too), so we'll be able to get along.

 

I'll keep you all posted on my progress. Please wish me luck…I think I'll need it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

