Skip to content

A Wonderful Wine – Tuesday November 6th, 2007

July 26, 2008

Finally, I have been able to try this wine. When I bought it, I was told that it was still a little young and needed a bit more time. Well it was an ‘02 so I gave it another two months. I just couldn’t wait.
 
The music for the evening was Rod Stewart’s, “The Great American Songbook Volume 2" . If you are not aware, Rod the Mod now does the great old standards from the 30's and 40's with a large band. These albums are excellent and his gravelly voice just works with these songs. Hearing Rod sing “As Time Goes By” with Queen Latifa, is a little strange to me, as I grew up watching Casablanca religiously and of course that song is featured. I still like the movie version better. As an aside, Rick never did say “play it again Sam”. No, he said “play it”. And more trivia…Ronald Regan was originally cast for Rick. Somehow I don’t think that would have worked well at all.
 
Dinner was coq au vin, which is a Burgundian classic. Really, its just a stew made from an old bird. Well we had some old chicken legs so it was a good idea. To cook it we bought some Pelee Island Red which is a competent wine and it seems to function quite well in this purpose. I wouldn’t serve it to the queen but it ain’t mad dog 20/20 either. We planned to have it Saturday but we had too much Sauv Blanc, so we simmered it on Sunday as well. Actually that makes it better as the chicken comes right off the bone, so its very tender.
 
The wine…….D’Angelo 2002 Pinot Noir. Well it’s typical of all of Sal D’Angelo’s wines. It’s big and it’s aged. Forget one or two years…..this babe is 5 and he thinks it needs more time. I thinks it’s fine now.
 
The colour is much deeper than the usual Pinots. Darker, richer and well it looks older.
 
The aroma is very nice. Full of very nice berry flavours, richness, earthiness but no barnyard….that I like.
 
With food it is very nice. Oh yes it has tannins and it is very big. It was wonderful with the coq au vin, but again, it should be. It’s what is supposed to be served with it. I noticed what I usually get with really good wine. It doesn’t just grab you…it seduces you. Very mellow, very cool. Like the difference between say, Ingrid Bergman in Casablanca and Audrey Hepburn in Sabrina. I’d take Ingrid any day.
 
Unaerated it is a lot different. The nose is quite a bit brighter as is the taste. Another wine which I may like better unaerated. I’m just not sure. Its like a young Ingrid Bergman…still quite classy, but brighter. I like it a lot.
 
My only complaint about this wine is the price. I understand that the yield for Pinot is tiny compared to some other grapes, but I guess I’m just cheap. I would love to pay $5 for this wine, but I know it just can’t happen so….
 
In all, a wine Sal D’Angelo should be and is proud of. I’m just glad he has some Pinot this year and I will enjoy every bottle that I can afford

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

